Periodically, since 1991, the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences has given the Doyle E. Peaslee Award to an outstanding graduate student in Plant and Soil Sciences. Doyle Peaslee was a long-time member of our faculty and this award was established by his family in his memory. The basis for the award is: high GRE scores, excellent grades, research strength, and potential for “contributions to US agriculture”.

Congratulations to Maythem AL-Amery, this year’s Peaslee Award recipient for outstanding student in Plant and Soil Sciences for 2016-17 academic year. Maythem was honored in conjunction with the 2017 Department of Plant and Soil Sciences Distinguished Alumnus Seminar, held on Friday, March 31 in the PSB Cameron Williams Lecture Hall. Maythem received a small honorarium along with recognition with an engraved nameplate added to the department plaque hung in the Plant Science Building. Maythem is a PhD candidate in the Integrated Plant and Soil Sciences program working under the advisement of Dr. David Hildebrand.


Previous winners include:

2010-11 Martin Navarro

2011-12 Jonathan Judy

2012-13 Yang Yang

2013-14 Atanas Radkov

2014-2015 Craig Schlutenhoffer

2015-2016 Lindsey Slaughter


Congrats Maythem!

Author: Cathy Bowers