Dr. Doyle E. Peaslee and Dr. Ronald E. Phillips Graduate Student Award (previous recipients)

Presented annually to an Agronomy graduate student in memory of Dr. Doyle E. Peaslee and Dr. Ronald E. Phillips, Professors of Agronomy. This award recognizes exceptional academic achievement and outstanding potential for contributions to American Agriculture. 

Alayna Jacobs (2022)


Gerald O. Mott Meritorious Graduate Student Award in Crop Science (previous recipients)

The Gerald O. Mott Meritorious Graduate Student Award in Crop Science recognizes top-notch graduate students pursuing advanced degrees in crop science disciplines. Departments select students based on academic achievements, research and teaching contributions, leadership accomplishments, service activities and personal qualifications. The award honors the first CSSA President, Gerald O. Mott, who trained 75 graduate students during his 45 year career at Purdue University and the University of Florida. Many of his students have become eminent forage scientists.

The award is offered by the Crop Science Society of America (CSSA), and recipients receive a certificate and are recognized in CSA News.

Daniel Quinn (2021)


IPSS Graduate Student Symposium (previous recipients)

Spring 2023 

Oral Presentations:

  • Sara Qian – 1st place
  • Travis Banet & Jarad Cochran – 2nd place tie
  • Paul Cöckson – 3rd place

Poster Presentations:

  • Josh Singleton – 1st place
  • Shelby Stanely – 2nd place
  • Letícia Pacheco Inoue – 3rd place


IPSS Outstanding Student Awards (previous recipients)


Outstanding Continuing Ph.D.

  • M. Foteh Ali - 1st place
  • Sanjay Joshi - 2nd place
  • Alayna Jacobs - 3rd place

Outstanding Continuing M.S.

  • Jordyn Bush - 1st place

Outstanding New MS

  • Danielle Doering - 1st place


Johnston-Carringer Agronomy Graduate Student Award

The Johnston-Carringer Agronomy Graduate Student Award, founded by Rick and Sandra Carringer, was launched in Spring 2021. This fund is aimed towards graduate students achieving excellence in agronomy.

Brian Rinehart (2022)


Three Minute Thesis (3MT) (previous recipients)

Fall 2022 - October 21, 2022

  • Danielle Doering - 1st Place
  • Alayna Jacobs - 2nd Place
  • Tajbir Raihan - 3rd Place & People's Choice - Student
  • Dr. Rebecca McCulley - People's Choice - Faculty

Fall 2021 - October 22, 2021

  • Tajbir Raihan - 1st Place
  • Kent Pham - 2nd Place
  • Umma Fatemah - 3rd Place

Fall 2020 - Postponed due to COVID-19

Fall 2019 - October 25, 2019

  • Daniel Quinn - 1st Place
  • Stuart Lichtenberg - 2nd Place
  • Mohammad Foteh Ali - 3rd Place
  • Sanjay Joshi - People's Choice - Student